The FMA 8-hour Florida Physician Cannabis Course no longer meets the educational requirements necessary under Florida law for physicians to certify patient eligibility for medical marijuana. As of June 23, 2017, a new 2-hour course (not yet available) is required.

Physicians who take this 8-hour course after June 23rd will still have to complete the new 2-hour course once it becomes available before they can legally certify patients as eligible for medical marijuana.


The Florida Legislature passed SB 1030, the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2014 ("the Act"), during the 2014 legislative session to specifically allow for the medical usage of "low-THC cannabis." In 2016, the Florida Legislature passed HB 307, the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act of 2016 ("the Act"), to further allow for the medical usage of "medical cannabis." Under these Acts, a physician licensed under chapter 458 (M.D./Allopathic Physician) or chapter 459 (D.O./Osteopathic Physician) can order low-THC cannabis and medical cannabis for their patients' use. The Florida Medical Association, which is accredited to provide AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM, offers this course in partnership with Florida Osteopathic Medical Association for Florida physicians to meet their continuing education requirements online.

There are a number of conditions, restrictions and requirements imposed by the Acts that a physician must familiarize themselves with. In addition to these requirements, the physician must successfully complete this course and the subsequent certification examination before ordering low-THC cannabis and medical cannabis. This course and examination must be taken once every two years (prior to renewal of the physician's license to practice medicine).